EBM I Assignment Guide for Anhui University Students (Archived): Does the Resource Provide a Citation?

In Person:  Monday - Friday: 9:30am - 4:30pm  Stop by the information desk in the library and ask to speak with the reference librarian.

Phone:  330-325-6600

Email:  refdesk@neomed.edu

By Appointment: Complete the online appointment request form or call 330-325-6600 to make an appointment with a librarian.

Reference services available to NEOMED affiliated patrons:

• Expert advice on locating relevant resources (journal articles, books, databases, etc)
• Assistance with research, including the development of search methodologies
• Database training
• Support for Zotero and EndNote Web

Contact a reference librarian for help, or to ask about a service not listed!

AccessMedicine - AccessMedicine provides citations for some of its resources. You can use these citations for the tertiary resources assignment. You can use more than one textbook toward your ten resources. Diagnosaurus, Quick Dx and Rx, and the drug monographs can be used for three additional resources.

• Textbooks - The citation can be found at the chapter level. See "get citation."
• Guidelines - The citation can be found at the chapter level. See "get citation."
• Diagnosaurus - The citation generator can be found on the left-side menu within Diagnosaurus.
  • Citation: Zeiger Roni F, McGraw Hill's Diagnosaurus 2.0: http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/diagnosaurus.aspx
• Quick Medical Dx & Rx (QMDR) - The citation can be found at the topic level. See "get citation."
• Guide to Diagnostic Tests - The citation can be found at the lab test level. See "get citation."
• Drug Monograph - Tweak this citation:

  • Format: Authors. Web site title. Date of first publication [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Copyright date - . Available from URL.

    Abacavir. [cited 2021 Oct 28]. In: AccessMedicine, [Internet]. [place unknown]: McGraw-Hill. c1978- . Available from:http://www.accessmedicine.com/drugContent.aspx?mid=5541.

AccessPharmacy - AccessPharmacy provides citations for some of its resources. You can use these citations for the tertiary resources assignment. You can use more than one textbook toward your ten resources. Diagnosaurus and the drug and herbal monographs can be used for three additional resources.

• Textbooks - The citation can be found at the chapter level. See "get citation."
• Quick Answers Pharmacy - The citation can be found at the chapter level. See "get citation."
• Drug or Hebal Monograph - Tweak this citation:

  • Format: Authors. Web site title. Date of first publication [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Copyright date - . Available from URL.

    Abacavir. [cited 2021 Oct 28]. In: AccessPharmacy, [Internet]. [place unknown]: McGraw-Hill. c1978- . Available from:http://www.accesspharmacy.com/drugContent.aspx?mid=5541.

Clinical Guidelines - 

• If citing the full guideline, then cite the guideline as it appeared in the journal.

  Format:

  Author(s). Article title. Journal Title. Publication Date; volume(issue):page numbers.

  American College of Obstetrics & Gynecology. ACOG practice bulletin no. 120: Use of prophylactic antibiotics in labor and delivery. 
  Obstet Gynecol. 2011 Jun;117(6):1472-83.

Clinical Key

• Book:
  • Bernstein D. General principles of treatment of congenital heart disease. In: Kliegman RM, Stanton BF, St Geme JW, and Schor N, eds. Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 20th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier; 2016:2243-2250. ClinicalKey website. https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/content/book/3-s2.0-B9781455775668004348. Accessed January 27, 2016.
• Journal Article:
  • Over DR. Upright Walkers as Mobility Assistive Devices for Older Adults. Am Fam Physician. 2022 May 1;105(5):Online.  ClinicalKey website. https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/content/journal/1-s2.0-S0002838X22000995. Accessed July 6, 2022. 
• Drug Monograph:
  • Bacitracin. Gold Standard. [updated 2021 Nov 10; cited 2022 Jul 6] In ClinicalKey [Internet]. Elsevier, Philadelphia, PA. Available at: https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/content/drug_monograph/6-s2.0-55. 
• Clinical Overview & Patient Education:
  • Clinical Overview: 4th citation on the page
  • Patient Education: 6th citation on the page

Cochrane Systematic Reviews (within in the Cochrane Library) - A citation is provided in the menu for each individual systematic review. Click on the green information button within a systematic review. Click on the view/save citation link. The citation for the systematic review can be found under how to cite.

DailyMed package insert

• Format: Pharmaceutical company.  Label. Publication Date [revision date; date cited]. In: Database Name [Internet]. [Copyright date] - , [page numbers]. Place of Publication: Publisher. Available from URL.

  Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC. Ambien cr (zolpidem tartrate) tablet, coated. 2007 [rev. 2007 Sep; cited 2009 Apr]. In: DailyMed [Internet]. [2005] -   . [about 20 p.]. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US). Available from: http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?id=5420

Lexi-Comp Online - See the NLM Citing Medicine page of this guide for guidance. There is an example of a citation of a Lexi-Comp drug monograph. If you only cite Lexi-Comp Online in general, it will only count  for one of your ten resources. If you cite the individual Lexi-Comp database, you can use Lexi-Comp for multiple resources for the assignment.

• Format: Authors. Web site title. Name of database. Date of first publication [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Available from URL. 

  Lansoprazole. Lexi-Drugs. [updated 2024 Jun 4; cited 2024 Jun 6] In Lexidrug UpToDate [Internet]. UpToDate. Waltham, MA. Available at: https://online.lexi.com.

MicroMedex - See examples of citations at the MicroMedex site. The NLM Citing Medicine page of this guide provides further guidance. If you only cite MicroMedex in general, it will only count  for one of your ten resources. If you cite the individual MicroMedex database, you can use Lexi-Comp for multiple resources for the assignment.

• Format: Authors. Web site title. Name of database. Date of first publication [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Available from URL. 

Lansoprazole. Micromedex® DRUGDEX®. [updated 2024 Jun 3; cited 2024 Jun 6] In: Merative^TM Micromedex® [Internet]. Merative, Ann Arbor, Michigan. Available at: http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/ 

NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines) - Tweak this citation

• Herbal Monographs

  • Format: Authors. Web site title. Name of database. Date of first publication [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Copyright date - . Available from URL. 

    Acai. Food, Herbs & Supplements. [updated 2018 Apr 14; cited 2018 Sept 17]. In: NatMedPro [Internet]. Denver, CO: NatMed. c2018. Available from https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/about-us/contact-us.aspx 

• Comparative Effectiveness Database

  • Anemia. Comparative Effectiveness. [updated 2018 Apr 14; cited 2018 Sept 17]. In: NatMedPro [Internet]. Denver, CO: Natural Medicines. c2018. Available from https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/about-us/contact-us.aspx 

PharmacyLibrary - See the citation examples on the NLM Citing Medicine page of this guide.

UpToDate - You can tweak this citation:

• General Topic:
  • Johnson MD. Second-generation antipsychotic medications: pharmacology, administration, and side effects. Post TW, ed. UpToDate. Waltham, MA: UpToDate Inc. http://uptodate.com (Accessed on January 02, 2017.)
• Drug Monograph:
  • Lexicomp. Ampiciliin: Drug information. [cited 2024 Jun 15]. In: UpToDate [Internet]. The Netherlands: Wolters Kluwer. Available from https://www-uptodate-com.

VisualDx

• Format: Authors. Web page title. Date of first publication (omit if not available) [Database name] [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Copyright date. Size of file (omit if not available). Available from URL.

  Papier A, Craft N, Tharp MD, Shear N. Cocaine levamisole toxicity. [VisualDx] [cited 2016 Jan 01]. In: Goldsmith LA, ed. VisualDx [Internet]. Rochester, NY: VisualDx. 2016. Available from https://www.visualdx.com/visualdx/diagnosis/cocaine+levamisole+toxicity?moduleID=101&diagnosisID=54687. 

Other Resources -  See the Citing Resources Guide