Skip to main content

Research & Instruction: Library Services

Research & Instruction Services Overview

Library services related to research and instruction are available to all faculty, staff, and students who work and study within NEOMED's three colleges. Employing an embedded approach, the library collaborates with researchers from project conception to completion and beyond. In the area of instruction, we offer a variety of workshops and drop-in sessions to help educate the entire NEOMED community and support the curriculum offered by NEOMED faculty.

If you are faculty or staff, then we encourage you to request a consultation with your reference librarian for comprehensive searches in bibliographic databases and other resources (if you are a student, see our page on student research services). This includes systematic review searching, help selecting appropriate databases for your research, tracking scholarly output (research metrics & impact), and advice on where to publish. 

To set up a time for a consultation, fill out this form. A librarian will contact you to discuss your research topic and needs.


In addition, please explore the following library services offered to faculty, staff, and student researchers. Select a link to learn more:

Please contact refdesk@neomed.edu for assistance.


Intensive Literature Searches

Literature searches are done for NEOMED faculty and staff, including clinical faculty. The status will be verified before conducting a search. 

Please use the online Literature Search Request Form.  If you have any questions, please email refdesk@neomed.edu.


Instruction & Workshops

Librarians work with faculty to develop and teach information literacy within the curriculum. Librarians teach in the Evidence Based Medicine I & II courses and provide lectures or interactive learning sessions for other courses.  Possible topics include library resources, literature searching, evidence based medicine, literature evaluation, copyright, and plagiarism. 

Librarians also teach a variety of workshops and stand alone courses. Topics include searching PubMed and other online databases, the NIH Public Access policy, searching for images for teaching, etc. Librarians also provide instruction to individuals on library resources on a walk-in basis or by appointment.

Please contact reference (refdesk@neomed.edu, 330-325-6600) for more information.


General Reference

In Person:  Monday - Friday: 9:30am - 4:30pm  Stop by the information desk in the library and ask to speak with the reference librarian.

Phone:  330-325-6600

Email:  refdesk@neomed.edu

By Appointment: Complete the online appointment request form or call 330-325-6600 to make an appointment with a librarian.

Reference services available to NEOMED affiliated patrons:

  • Expert advice on locating relevant resources (journal articles, books, databases, etc)
  • Assistance with research, including the development of search methodologies
  • Database training
  • Support for Zotero and EndNote Web

Contact a reference librarian for help, or to ask about a service not listed!


Assistance with Citation Management

Library staff are available to train faculty, staff, and students in the use of citation management tools such as Zotero and EndNote Web (also known as EndNote Basic). 

Please contact refdesk@neomed.edu for assistance with using these tools and/or to set up a consultation on how to use one for your research topic.

Explore our guide on citation management to learn more.


Help with the NIH Public Access mandate

The library offers introductory instruction and a library guide about the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Public Access Policy. Reference librarians can also offer assistance with determining which submission method is appropriate and with submitting manuscripts to the NIH Manuscript Submission system.  Please contact reference (refdesk@neomed.edu, 330-325-6600) for more information.

Contact Your Librarian for Help

Office L215, Aneal Mohan Kohli Adademic and Information Technology Center
330.325.6378

Websit


Home: NEOMED LibGuides Library University      Use the Library: Spaces / Services / Collections      My Account: Interlibrary Loan (Illiad) My Library Account 
     Find Information: PubMed NEOLINK / OHIOLINK 
Journal Article Databases      Request a Service: Search Consultation 
Literature Search
      Help & General Information: Contact Hours Copyright & Privacy Hospital Libraries Library Blog