NEOMED Library: M3 Practice Based Learning and Improvement Presentation Guide: Library Resources & Support

PubMed Tutorials

Need a refresher on PubMed? View these tutorials. You don't have to login, just continue without taking the quiz.

Need to Order a Journal Article?

ILLiad
If you are affiliated with NEOMED, you can request journal articles or books via interlibrary loan when NEOMED Library does not already have access to the resource. This interlibrary loan service is provided through ILLIAD. You may register for ILLIAD at https://neomed.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/. NEOMED affiliation will be verified before article requests will be filled. Articles will be delivered to your ILLIAD account and will be accessible for 30 days. You are free to download and save a copy of this article in PDF form from your account within those 30 days. Contact the library if you have questions (ill@neomed.edu, 330-325-6600).

PubMed Clinical Queries

PubMed clinical Queries
Clinical Queries Tutorial pdf
Ebling Library, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Clinical Queries - PubMed Tutorial Video
University of Pennsylvania libraries

Commonly Used Databases

Below is a sample of our commonly used databases. To full a complete listing of databases, see the A-Z databases list.

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Basic science & clinical medicine textbooks, clinical tools, and case studies. Online access to over 60 current medical texts.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1107829~S0.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Current full text textbooks and monographs, NAPLEX review materials, diagnostic test information, calculators, and clinical cases. Unlimited users.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1116401~S0
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Covers evidence-based medicine. Six databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(CDSR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). Updated as new reviews are published or revised.
URL to catalog entry: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1121228~S0
Lexi-Comp Online This link opens in a new window
Lexi-Comp enables users to quickly locate information on a complete range of topics, including pediatric, adult, and geriatric dosing and guidelines, I.V. compatibility, patient education, international drugs, infectious diseases, pregnancy and lactation, and more.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1110407~S0
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Over 30 separate databases. Includes Trissell's IV Compatibility, the RED Book, POISINDEX, and Alternative Medicine resources. Provides patients with complete, easy-to-understand patient education handouts.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1118274~S0

National Guideline Clearninghouse
NGC supports AHRQ's mission to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable by providing objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines, and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use in order to inform health care decisions.

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. Interactions checker and continuing education are also available.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1134814~S0
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Over 5600 biomedical journals with links to full text. 1940s-present.
Direct link to catalog entry for PubMed: NEOLINK entry
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to fulltext articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.

Ask Us

NEOMED Library

Contact:

library@neomed.edu

330-325-6600

Subjects: Anatomy, Biology, Biomedical Research, Clinical Clerkships, Consumer Health, Copyright, Education, Evidence-based Medicine, General Library Guides, Medicine & Health, Pharmacy, Psychology, Public Health, Research & Writing, Teaching Resources

Other Relevant Library Guides

Clinical Clerkship Resources
by Colleen Duchon Last Updated Dec 19, 2024 266 views this year
Evidence-based Medicine I Course Guide (Archived)
by Heather McEwen, MLIS, MS Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 721 views this year
Evidence-based Medicine II Course Guide (Archived)
by Heather McEwen, MLIS, MS Last Updated Dec 8, 2021 122 views this year
Journal Club Presentation Resources (Statistics Help)
by Heather McEwen, MLIS, MS Last Updated May 22, 2024 3221 views this year
Citing Resources
by Heather McEwen, MLIS, MS Last Updated Jun 6, 2024 8385 views this year
How to Search in Biomedical Databases
by NEOMED Library Last Updated Feb 13, 2024 10076 views this year

COLLECTIONS BY FORMAT:

KEY RESOURCES:

SERVICES:

SPACES:

M3 Practice Based Learning and Improvement Presentation Guide: Library Resources & Support

Library Resources for the Clinical Clerkships