Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
POEM or DOE?
Is the article or guideline a DOE or a POEM?
POEM (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters)
- Quality of Life
- Recovery Time
- Length of hospital stay
- Pain scale
DOE (Disease Oriented Evidence)
- Cardiac biomarkers
- Blood pressure reading
- LDL, HDL
- Blood sugar
- Bone density
- Other laboratory Tests
Slawson DC, Shaughnessy AF, Ebell MH, Barry HC. Mastering medical information and the role of POEMs--Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters. J Fam Pract. 1997;45(3):195-6.
Other Things to Consider
- Remember to also consult a professional drug monograph or herbal monograph. Consider cost, warnings, contraindications, adverse reactions, and drug interactions. For natural products, consider purity and standardization.
- Remember to consider costs, insurance coverage, and accessibility.
- If using a research article, does it match the clinical guidelines?
Over 30 separate databases. Includes Trissell's IV Compatibility, the RED Book, POISINDEX, and Alternative Medicine resources.
Former title Natural Standard. Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. Interactions checker and continuing education are also available.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Browse by topic, view all mental health guidelines!
UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to fulltext articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.