NEOMED Library: FOM Tertiary Resources Assignment Guide: Questions 10-17

Question 10

Answer this question using professional drug monographs. Use one of the monographs available in the following resources. You may not use monographs for patients. You may seek permission to use a professional monograph from a resource that is not in this list. Please contact H. McEwen for permission.

Question 10:

UpToDate Lexidrug: With a keyword search, your will be referred to the toxicology database. Within the toxicology database, monographs are either for an individual drug or a pharmacological category. You want either symptoms or treatments.
Merative MicroMedex: Do a keyword search. See toxicology in the left-side navigation menu. Information provided may be specific for one drug or entire drug class.
AccessPharmacy - Has e-books on the topic of toxicology.

AccessPharmacy
Wireless users: Please utilize off-campus link. You will be asked to authenticate with your name and student number. Click on the textbook tab on the home page and choose the textbook: "CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2018"
UpToDate Lexidrug
Lexi-Comp enables users to quickly locate information on a complete range of topics, including pediatric, adult, and geriatric dosing and guidelines, I.V. compatibility, patient education, international drugs, infectious diseases, pregnancy and lactation, and more.
Merative Micromedex
Over 30 separate databases. Includes Trissell's IV Compatibility, the RED Book, POISINDEX, and Alternative Medicine resources.

Question 11

Use the VisualDx Quick Start Differential Builder. Enter these symptoms and provide two potential differential diagnoses

Questions 12-13

Answer these questions using professional drug monographs. Use one of the monographs available in the following resources. You may not use monographs for patients. You may seek permission to use a professional monograph from a resource that is not in this list. Please contact H. McEwen for permission.

Question 12: If a patient is taking a medication, it can sometimes mess up the results of laboratory tests that a patient is given.

UpToDate Lexidrug: Do a keyword search. Choose the Lexi-Drugs monograph. See test interactions in the interactions section of the monograph.
Merative MicroMexex: Use the Drug Interactions tool. It can be found on the top navigation bar within MicroMedex.

Question 13: Any of the professional monographs listed below can be used. See the interactions section of the drug monograph.

AccessMedicine
Basic science & clinical medicine textbooks, clinical tools, and case studies. Online access to over 60 current medical texts.
AccessPharmacy
Current full text textbooks and monographs, NAPLEX review materials, diagnostic test information, calculators, and clinical cases. Unlimited users.
UpToDate Lexidrug
Merative Micromedex
Over 30 separate databases. Includes Trissell's IV Compatibility, the RED Book, POISINDEX, and Alternative Medicine resources.
DailyMed
A National Library of Medicine resource

Question 14

To answer this question, you will need to utilize the Comparative Effectiveness database within the Natural Medicine database. Click on databases at the top of the home page. Choose the Comparative Effectiveness database. Do not use the regular herbal monograph. The database is organized by the disease/condition.

NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines)
Former title Natural Standard. Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. Interactions checker and continuing education are also available.

Question 15

AccessMedicine
See the CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2020 and the CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Inpatient Medicine 2018–2019
Clinical Guidelines - American Pharmacists Association
ClinicalKey
ECRI Guidelines Trust - check working in July
GuidelineCentral
MEDLINE - PubMed
Set a filter for article type (guideline). PubMed will provide citation for the guideline.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health Clinical Practice Guidelines
Trip Medical Database (free version)
Do a keyword search. Filter for guidelines.
UpToDate
Where else to go for Clinical Guidelines (Now that Guideline.gov won’t be maintained) - Jennifer Hinkel
Blog has a list of links to organization-written clinical guidelines.

Question 16

Cochrane Library
Do a keyword search. See the Population Health lecture slides for screen shots about how to do the search and where to find the citation.

Question 17

Use a patient resource. Resources designed for health care professionals should be avoided.

AccessMedicine
See the patient ed link on the top menu of the home page.
AccessPharmacy
See the patient ed link on the top menu of the home page.
ClinicalKey
Choose Patient Education from the home page.
UpToDate Lexidrug
See the patient education link on the top menu of the home page
Mayo Clinic Health Information
The Mayo Clinic has provided a great resource to find just about everything you may need for your healthy lifestyle. They provide information on the topics of; diseases and conditions, symptoms, drugs and supplements, and healthy living.
MedlinePlus
A consumer health resource with over 800 diseases & conditions. The site is mirrored in Spanish and also contains drug & supplement information, a medical dictionary, and media tools such as images and videos.
Merative Micromedex
See the CareNotes link on the top menu of the home page
UpToDate
Patient education is listed under contents on the menu on the topic of the home page.

Citing the Resources for Question #17

AccessMedicine &AccessPharmacy:
- Authors. Web site title. Date of first publication [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Copyright date
- Adult Advisor. Yoga. 2023. In AccessMedicine. Cork, Ireland: Change Healthcare LLC. 2023.
ClincialKey:
- See the 6th citation
Websites:
- Web Page [home page]:
  
  Format: Authors. Web site title. [Internet]. Place of publication (in brackets if inferred). editors. Copyright dates. [last revision date; date cited]. Available from URL.
  
  D'Alessandro DM, D'Alessandro MP. Virtual Pediatric Hospital™: a digital library of pediatric information [Internet]. [Iowa City (IA)]: Donna M. D'Alessandro; c1992-2007 [revised 2006 Jul 20; cited 2007 Feb 20]. Available from: http://www.virtualpediatrichospital.org/.
  
  Web Page [secondary page]:
  
  Format: Authors. Web site title. [Internet]. Place of publication (in brackets if inferred). Copyright dates. Secondary page title; last revision date; [cited date]; [number of screens]. Available from URL.
  
  AMA: helping doctors help patients [Internet]. Chicago: American Medical Association; c1995-2007. AMA launches exclusive partnership with the ReachMD Channel for medical professionals; 2007 Mar 26 [cited 2007 Mar 28]; [about 2 screens]. Available from: http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/category/17469.html.
  
  Information About Citing Resources within MedlinePlus https://medlineplus.gov/about/using/citation/
MicroMedex
- Example:
  
  Bladder cancer: General information (English). (2024). In Micromedex: CareNotes (Ann Arbor, MI: Merative US L.P. Retrieved Aug 1, 2024, from http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/
LexiComp Online
- Example:
- Back Muscle Strain. Patient Education. [updated 2024 Jun 4; cited 2024 Jun 6] In Lexidrug UpToDate [Internet]. UpToDate. Waltham, MA. Available at: https://online.lexi.com.
UpToDate Patient Education
- Patient education: Acid reflux and GERD in adults (The Basics). Post TW, ed. UpToDate. Waltham, MA: UpToDate Inc. http://uptodate.com (Accessed on August 1, 2024.)

COLLECTIONS BY FORMAT:

KEY RESOURCES:

SERVICES:

SPACES:

FOM Tertiary Resources Assignment Guide: Questions 10-17

Announcements