Skip to Main Content

FOM Tertiary Resources Assignment Guide: Questions 18 - 24

This guide is designed to assist students with their tertiary resources assignment in the EBM I course.

Announcements

See the Population Health Medical Tertiary Resources lecture slides. It includes screenshots on how to use the different resources.
After you use 10 different resources, feel free to reuse resources for the rest of the assignment.

Question 18

AccessMedicine
Can use Diagnosaurus (DDx) or other resources within AccessMedicine.
Merative Micromedex
Over 30 separate databases. Includes Trissell's IV Compatibility, the RED Book, POISINDEX, and Alternative Medicine resources.
UpToDate
UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to fulltext articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.

VisualDx This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is an award-winning diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Features include: the world’s best curated medical image library; smart search for chief complaints, diagnoses, and drug reactions; and custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder

ClinicalKey

Question 19

Use ClinicalKey for this question. Click on Clinical Overviews. Do a keyword search for the disease.

ClinicalKey
See the causes and risk factors section for risk factors. See the treatment options section for part b of the question.
An example of a ClinicalKey citation for Clinical Overviews
The fourth citation on the page

Question 20 - 22

AccessMedicine
Merative Micromedex
Over 30 separate databases. Includes Trissell's IV Compatibility, the RED Book, POISINDEX, and Alternative Medicine resources.
Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment
Available within AccessMedicine. See the quick reference tab (QMDT).
UpToDate
UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to fulltext articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.

VisualDx This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is an award-winning diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Features include: the world’s best curated medical image library; smart search for chief complaints, diagnoses, and drug reactions; and custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder

ClinicalKey

Question 23

For question 23, Choose one of these resources.

AccessMedicine
UpToDate Lexidrug
There is a Lab Tests and Diagnostic Procedures database listed under more clinical tools.
ARUP Consult: The Physician's Guide to Laboratory Test Selection and Interpretation
UpToDate
UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to fulltext articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.

VisualDx This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is an award-winning diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Features include: the world’s best curated medical image library; smart search for chief complaints, diagnoses, and drug reactions; and custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder

ClinicalKey

Question 24

Go to AccessMedicine. From the Quick Reference tab at the top of the home page, click on Diagnostic Tests. Can keyword search your test.

AccessMedicine
Basic science & clinical medicine textbooks, clinical tools, and case studies. Online access to over 60 current medical texts.

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2024 7:46 AM
URL: https://libraryguides.neomed.edu/tertiaryresources
Print Page

Subjects: Evidence-based Medicine, Medicine & Health, Pharmacy, Teaching Resources

Tags: EBM, evidence based medicine

Northeast Ohio Medical University is an Equal Education and Employment Institution
ADA Compliance | Title IX

NEOMED Library - 4209 St, OH-44, Rootstown, OH 44272 - "A Building" Second Floor

330-325-6600

library@neomed.edu

Except where otherwise noted, content on the NEOMED LibGuides is licensed for reuse under a Creative Commons 3.0 Attribution-NonCommercial license (CC BY-NC)

PROVIDE FEEDBACK

COLLECTIONS

LOCATION & HOURS

MAKE A FINANCIAL DONATION

OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS

HELP & GENERAL INFO

HOSPITAL LIBRARIES