Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 
 

PPC I Tertiary Resources Assignment Guide: Questions 1- 15

This guide is designed to assist students with their tertiary resources assignment in the EBM I course.

Definitions for Drug Monograph Components/ Other Advice

  • When searching, the medication may be available as systemic, ophthalmic, topical etc. Choose the systemic version unless the question states otherwise. 
  • See the Population Health Medical Tertiary Resources lecture slides. It includes screenshots on how to use the different resources.

Questions 1 - 3

Answer these questions using professional drug monographs. Use one of the monographs available in the following resources. You may not use monographs written specifically for patients. You may seek permission to use a professional monograph from a resource that is not in this list. Please contact H. McEwen for permission. You will continue to use these resources for your EBM assignments for the rest of COM curriculum. 

1. Monitoring Parameters

  • In AccessMedicine and AccessPharmacy monographs, see the monitoring section.
  • Lexi-Comp Online - In the Lexi-Drugs monograph, see the patient and therapy management section.
  • In MicroMedex, monitoring is listed under patient safety.
  • In a DailyMed monograph, see the Uses section.
  • In an UpToDate monograph, see the monitoring section

2. Labeled Uses or Indications -

May be listed as Labeled Uses (FDA approved use) or Indications. These are not the same as unlabeled uses.

  • In AccessMedicine and AccessPharmacy monographs, see the Indications and Usage section.
  • Lexi-Comp Online - In the Lexi-Drugs monograph, see the Uses section.
  • In MicroMedex, it is listed under FDA Uses.
  • In a DailyMed monograph, see section 17 Patient Counseling Information
  • In an UpToDate monograph, see the Uses: Labeled Indications section

3. Adverse Warnings

  • In AccessMedicine and AccessPharmacy monographs, see the Adverse Reactions section.
  • Lexi-Comp Online - In the Lexi-Drugs monograph, see the Adverse Reactions section.
  • In MicroMedex, it is listed under Adverse Effects.
  • In a DailyMed monograph, see the Warnings section
  • In an UpToDate monograph, see the Adverse Reactions section.

Question 4

Question 5

A professional herbal monograph should be consulted for this question. Please choose one of the following resources. Click on the "i" symbol for more information. Many resources have herbal monographs (Natural Medicines database, Lexi-Comp Online, AccessPharmacy, MicroMedex, etc.).  

For this question, you can provide an individual drug or a drug class. An example of a drug class would be 

Questions 6 - 8

Answer these questions using professional drug monographs. Use one of the monographs available in the following resources. You may not use monographs for patients. You may seek permission to use a professional monograph from a resource that is not in this list. Please contact H. McEwen for permission. See the box at the top of this page for links to definitions for black box warnings and contraindications.

Question 6: Information can be found in the interactions section of a drug monograph. MicroMedex's drug interaction tool will also provide information about food interactions with medication.

Question 7: If you are using Lexi-Comp Online (Lexi-Drugs) monograph, contraindications are listed under Warnings and Precautions.

Question 8: Black box warnings sometimes are found at the beginning of the drug monograph. You can find the information warnings section of the drug monograph. They sometimes provide a summary of the black box warning before providing more detailed information. You just need to provide the short summary. For example, you could state bleeding risk. 

Question 9

See the Lexi-Drugs monograph within Lexi-Comp Online to answer both parts of the question. This section provides pricing information and whether there is a generic version of the drug available.  A drug may have a generic name but not be available as a generic drug.

Questions 10-13

Answer these questions using professional drug monographs. Use one of the monographs available in the following resources. You may not use monographs for patients. You may seek permission to use a professional monograph from a resource that is not in this list. Please contact H. McEwen for permission.

Question 10:

  • Lexi-Comp Online: With a keyword search, your will be referred to the toxicology database. Within the toxicology database, monographs are either for an individual drug or a pharmacological category. You want either symptoms or treatments.
  • MicroMedex: Do a keyword search. See toxicology in the left-side navigation menu. Information provided may be specific for one drug or entire drug class.
  • AccessPharmacy - Has e-books on the topic of toxicology.

Question 11:  Use Lexi-Comp Online. Do a keyword search. Choose the Lexi-Drugs monograph. Reference range information can be found in the patient and therapy management section of the drug monograph. See the box at the top of this page for links to a definition for reference range. 

Question 12: If a patient is taking a medication, it can sometimes mess up the results of laboratory tests that a patient is given.

  • Lexi-Comp Online: Do a keyword search. Choose the Lexi-Drugs monograph. See test interactions in the interactions section of the monograph.
  • MicroMexex: Use the Drug Interactions tool. It can be found on the top navigation bar within MicroMedex.

Question 13: Any of the professional monographs listed below can be used.

Question 14

To answer this question, you will need to utilize the Comparative Effectiveness database within the Natural Medicine database. Quick databases at the top of the home page. Choose the Comparative Effectiveness database. Do not use the regular herbal monograph. The database is organized by the disease/condition. 

Question 15