NEOMED Library: PPC II Journal Club Assignment Guide: Library Resources

Ask Us!

Contact:

library@neomed.edu

330-325-6600

Subjects: Anatomy, Biology, Biomedical Research, Clinical Clerkships, Consumer Health, Copyright, Education, Evidence-based Medicine, General Library Guides, Medicine & Health, Pharmacy, Psychology, Public Health, Research & Writing, Teaching Resources

Journal Club Resources

CINAHL Plus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing and allied health. Indexes journals, books, conference proceedings, and other resources. Provides full text for over 770 journals. 1937-present.

ClinicalTrials.gov

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Covers evidence-based medicine. Six databases: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews(CDSR); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE); Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR); Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA); and NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED). Updated as new reviews are published or revised.
URL to catalog entry: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1121228~S0
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. Interactions checker and continuing education are also available.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1134814~S0
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO Contains more than 2.6 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines.

PubMed clinical Queries

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Over 5600 biomedical journals with links to full text. 1940s-present.
Direct link to catalog entry for PubMed: NEOLINK entry

Instructions for Accessing Full Text from PubMed

Need a PubMed refresher? Try these tutorials!

TRIP Database This link opens in a new window
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. You can search with keywords or do a PICO search. Items are classified by level of evidence. See About Trip for more information.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to fulltext articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that indexes scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. It also contains cited references, as well as the number of times that each article has been cited.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1239558

Databases A-Z

Lexi-Comp Online This link opens in a new window
Lexi-Comp enables users to quickly locate information on a complete range of topics, including pediatric, adult, and geriatric dosing and guidelines, I.V. compatibility, patient education, international drugs, infectious diseases, pregnancy and lactation, and more.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1110407~S0
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Over 30 separate databases. Includes Trissell's IV Compatibility, the RED Book, POISINDEX, and Alternative Medicine resources. Provides patients with complete, easy-to-understand patient education handouts.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1118274~S0
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. Interactions checker and continuing education are also available.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1134814~S0

Answering Clinical & Drug Information Questions
This guide has resources that will be helpful answering clinical and drug information questions. The resources in this guide will be helpful to students working on the tertiary resources assignment in the EBM I course.
AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine includes drug monographs.
AccessPharmacy
AccessPharmacy includes drug monographs and herbal monographs.

Finding Guidelines in PubMed

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Covers medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. Over 5600 biomedical journals with links to full text. 1940s-present.
Direct link to catalog entry for PubMed: NEOLINK entry

Organizations that Produce Guidelines

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

The NIH is composed of 27 Institutes and Centers and is the primary federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.

Steps to search for practice guidelines within NIH's Institutes:

Select the Institute that pertains to your topic, e.g. the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS).
Often, you can find practice guidelines by searching the websites of the Institutes within the National Institutes of Health network. Try using each website's "Search" feature to look for "clinical practice guidelines", "practice guidelines", or "guidelines".

American College of Physicians

Evidence-based guidelines on many topics relating to internal medicine.

Health Services/Technology Assessment Text (HSTAT)

HSTAT is a free searchable collection of large, full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments, quick-reference guides for clinicians, consumer health brochures, evidence reports, and health information.

VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines (U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs)

Developed and produced by the Office of Quality and Performance in the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs.

MedlinePlus
The National Library of Medicine's website for medical information for patients and their families.
UptoDate for Patients
Cancer (NCI)
Choose Wisely
GoodRx
AccessMedicine
See the patient education tab.
AccessPharmacy
See the patient education tab.
Micromedex
See Carenotes.
Natural Medicines
Patient monographs for natural products written in English, French, and Spanish.

Need an article?

If you know the title of the article/item that you are trying to access, then enter it in the following search box. This search box will provide full-text links to our holdings.

Need full-text access to an article/book that NEOMED Library does not have?

If you are affiliated with NEOMED, you can request journal articles or books via interlibrary loan when NEOMED Library does not already have access to the resource. This interlibrary loan service is provided through ILLIAD. You may register for ILLIAD at https://neomed.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/. NEOMED affiliation will be verified before article requests will be filled.

Articles will be delivered to your ILLIAD account and will be accessible for 30 days. You are free to download and save a copy of this article in PDF form from your account within those 30 days. Please email ill@neomed.edu with questions.

Illiad Registration, Requesting & PubMed Importing
Describes the steps in the registration process with an example of how to request from PubMed.

COLLECTIONS BY FORMAT:

KEY RESOURCES:

SERVICES:

SPACES:

PPC II Journal Club Assignment Guide: Library Resources

Finding Full Text from PubMed

Ask Us!

Journal Club Resources

Need an article?

Need full-text access to an article/book that NEOMED Library does not have?