NEOMED Library: Student Resources: Pharmacology

Pharmacology

Lexi-Comp Online This link opens in a new window
Drug I.D.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1110407~S0

Pillbox
The Pillbox website was developed to aid in the identification of unknown pills (oral solid dosage form medications). It combines images of pills with appearance and other information to enable users to visually search for and identify oral solid dosage form medications.
Drugs.com Pill Identifier

Lexi-Comp Online This link opens in a new window
Lexi-Comp enables users to quickly locate information on a complete range of topics, including pediatric, adult, and geriatric dosing and guidelines, I.V. compatibility, patient education, international drugs, infectious diseases, pregnancy and lactation, and more.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1110407~S0
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Over 30 separate databases. Includes Trissell's IV Compatibility, the RED Book, POISINDEX, and Alternative Medicine resources. Provides patients with complete, easy-to-understand patient education handouts.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1118274~S0
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. Interactions checker and continuing education are also available.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1134814~S0

Safety Alerts

ISMP Medication Safety Alert! Community/Ambulatory Care Edition This link opens in a new window
Institute for Safe Medication Practices - Community/Ambulatory Care ISMP Medication Safety Alerts newsletter provides hospitals with vital and potentially life-saving information on medication and device errors, adverse drug reactions, and practical prevention strategies. Coverage January 1996-December 2022.
ISMP Medication Safety Alert! Acute Care Edition This link opens in a new window
Institute for Safe Medication Practices - Acute Care ISMP Medication Safety Alerts newsletter provides hospitals with vital and potentially life-saving information on medication and device errors, adverse drug reactions, and practical prevention strategies. Coverage January 1996-December 2022.

Drugs@FDA
A Catalog of FDA approved drugs
MedlinePlus Drugs and Supplements
Drugs, supplements, and herbal Information for the consumer.
Drugs.com
Prescription drug information and news for professionals and consumers.
DailyMed
High-quality information about marketed drugs as found in FDA-approved medication package inserts.
Electronic Orange Book
FDA Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations
United States Pharmacopeia (USP)
A non–governmental, official public standards–setting authority for prescription and over–the–counter medicines and other healthcare products.
MedWatch
The FDA Safety Information and Adverse Event Reporting Program
Office of Dietary Supplements
NIH agency for the role of dietary supplements in the improvement of health care.

Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice by Schwinghammer Chisholm; Marie A. Chisholm-Burns; Joseph T. DiPiro; Jill M. Kolesar; Terry L. Schwinghammer; Barbara G. Wells; Michael A. Katzenberg; Patrick M. Malone; Kathryn R. Matthias
Call Number: in AccessPharmacy
Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs by Daniel L. Krinsky (Editor-In-Chief); Rosemary R. Berardi (Associate Editor); Stefanie P; Ferreri (Associate Editor); Anne Lamont Hume (Associate Editor); Gail D. Newton (Associate Editor); Carol J. Rollins (Associate Editor); Karen J. Tietze (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 1582121605
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Thoroughly updated and revised, the Handbook of Nonprescription Drugs: An Interactive Approach to Self-Care provides essential information on nonprescription drug pharmacotherapy, nutritional supplements, medical foods, nondrug and preventive measures, and complementary and alternative therapies.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by J. Larry Jameson; Dan L. Longo; Stephen L. Hauser; Dennis L. Kasper; Joseph Loscalzo; Anthony S. Fauci
ISBN: 9781259644030
Publication Date: 2018
Online version of the popular Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by Randa Hilal-Dandan; Bjorn Knollman; Laurence Brunton
ISBN: 9781259584732
Publication Date: 2017
The leading pharmacology reference source.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by Bertram G. Katzung; Anthony J. Trevor
ISBN: 9781259641152
Publication Date: 2017
Presents the essential concepts that students need to know about the science of pharmacology and their application. Focuses on the basic principles of each drug group as well as the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects.

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Current full text textbooks and monographs, NAPLEX review materials, diagnostic test information, calculators, and clinical cases. Unlimited users.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1116401~S0

PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new window
PharmacyLibrary from American Pharmacists Association (APhA) features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association and a variety of news sources.
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1121239~S0

Lexi-Comp Online This link opens in a new window
Catalog entry url: http://crusher.neomed.edu/record=b1110407~S0

Tip! Use the LexiComp pronunciation feature.

RED BOOK
Comprehensive access to current, accurate drug pricing information.

COLLECTIONS BY FORMAT:

KEY RESOURCES:

SERVICES:

SPACES:

Student Resources

Pharmacology