How to Search in Biomedical Databases

Sample Search Step #8: Accessing Full Text & Exporting Results

Accessing Full Text at NEOMED

• In the NEOMED instance of PubMed, the “Northeast Ohio Medical University” icon (pictured above in the title) should appear within an item record. To reach an individual item record, simply click on the title within the list of results (as pictured in the previous section).

• As seen in the screen-capture below, the link for NEOMED's full-text holding should appear in the upper-right corner of an individual item record.

• To access the full text, click the pictured icon to go to an external page listing available full-text options, as seen below. Within this page there should be a listing all available full-text options. In the case pictured here, there are multiple options. The first option is the most reliable, so select the link titled "Access full text from NEOMED's holdings (provides access for most recent articles."

• Upon clicking the link, the following page should open. This article is a subscription resource that the Library pays for, and you can see this by the NEOMED Library logo at the top of the screen, and the "Full Access" icon with the open lock. To download a PDF version, click on the PDF icon (circled)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) within PubMed

• In cases when the full text is not immediately available within the screen that opens after clicking on the NEOMED full-text link () within a PubMed entry (as pictured in the above section), you will see a heading that says, "ILLiad - Request this item through interlibrary loan" directly above a link labeled "ILLiad - Request this item through interlibrary loan." Both are of these are pictured in the screen-capture below. This means that you can request a PDF to be sent to you by NEOMED Library's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL). This service is free for NEOMED students, faculty, and staff. To make a request, do the following:
  • Click on the link labeled ""ILLiad - Request this item through interlibrary loan" pictured below. This link should take you to ILLiad login screen. Login to your account, or set one up if you don't have one already (this can be done by filling out the form to opens when you select the link titled "First Time User."

​

• Once you login to your account, the article information will automatically populate the request form. 

• Check to make sure that the info in the form is complete and correct.

• Click submit at the bottom of the form to complete the request.

• The article will then be emailed to you (only available for NEOMED students, faculty, and staff), typically within 1-5 business days. ​

• This service is free to NEOMED students, faculty, and staff, and you can set up an account if you don't have one already. Learn more about interlibrary loan and ILLiad within PubMed at NEOMED in our step-by-step guide titled "Illiad Registration, Requesting & PubMed Importing." 

Exporting Multiple Results from PubMed

• If you want to export multiple results to a citation management software,  you can do so by clicking on the checkboxes beside each title in the set of PubMed results, as pictured here:

• Once you've selected all results that you wish to save for later, you have several options for exporting/saving at the top of the page. Directly beneath the search box, there should be a button labeled "Save" (pictured below as step 1). Click on this button, and a drop-down menu should appear with options to make a "Selection" of results for exporting (Step 2) and "Save citations to file." To export the results to a citation management software, select the option "RIS" from the dropdown list for "Format" (Step 3). There are also options to save the results as a CSV (a spreadsheet) or in the form of txt documents with abstracts, summaries, or PubMed IDs (PMID). In the following screen shot, RIS was selected. To complete the export of citations to a file, click on "Create File" (step 4)

• For an in-depth workflow for importing this file to different citation management softwares, please visit our step-by-step guide on citation management: https://libraryguides.neomed.edu/citations.

• One final option for saving your results is to click on the ". . ." button directly to the right of the "Save" button pictured in the previous screen-capture. This button will open a drop-down menu feature options to send your resutls to: PubMed's clipboard (a feature for saving results as you go so that you can export them as a batch after completing multiple searches (learn more); NCBI's My Bibliography feature (learn more); or My NCBI's Collections feature:

• Pro Tip: Once you complete a search, click on "Create an alert" underneath the search box. From here you can create a search alert or save your search strategy.