Skip to main content

How Do I...

This "How Do I" guide answers common library questions, such as how to find information on a topic, request a book, get material from another campus, cite resources, or access information from off-campus!

How to Get Full-Text Journal Articles

NEOMED Library maintains subscriptions to thousands of scholarly resources containing millions of journal articles available online with full-text access. Key subscriptions include Cochrane, MEDLINE, and PsycINFO. To access full-text articles within all of these database subscriptions explore the instructions provided for several databases below:

A second option is to simply use the search box featured at the bottom of this page. It allows you to enter the title of any article or book, and it will verify if full text is available. In most cases, the search feature will provide direct links for "Full Text." In other cases, when not immediately available, this search feature will provide options interlibrary loan.

Full Text from PubMed at NEOMED

Accessing Full Text from PubMed at NEOMED

  • In the NEOMED instance of PubMed, the “Northeast Ohio Medical University” icon (pictured below, circled in red) should appear within an item record. To reach an individual item record, simply click on the title within the list of results.

  • As seen in the screen-capture below, the link for NEOMED's full-text holding should appear in the upper-right corner of an individual item record.

Screen-capture showing where to find the link for NEOMED's full-text options
  • To access the full text, click the pictured icon to go to an external page listing available full-text options, as seen below. Within this page there should be a listing all available full-text options. In the case pictured here, there are multiple options. The first option is the most reliable, so select the link titled "Access full text from NEOMED's holdings (provides access for most recent articles)."
Screen-capture showing EBSCO's full-text finder for an article that NEOMED has
  • Upon clicking the link, the following page should open. This article is a subscription resource that the Library pays for, and you can see this by the NEOMED Library logo at the top of the screen, and the "Full Access" icon with the open lock. To download a PDF version, click on the PDF icon (circled)

Screen-capture of journal article page within Wiley Online Library, highlighting how to get the PDF and determine that you have successfully authenticated

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) within PubMed

  • In cases when the full text is not immediately available within the screen that opens after clicking on the NEOMED full-text link (NEOMED Logo found in various databases to indicate full-text access options) within a PubMed entry (as pictured in the above section), you will see a heading that says, "ILLiad - Request this item through interlibrary loan" directly above a link labeled "ILLiad - Request this item through interlibrary loan." Both are of these are pictured in the screen-capture below. This means that you can request a PDF to be sent to you by NEOMED Library's Interlibrary Loan service (ILL). This service is free for NEOMED students, faculty, and staff. To make a request, do the following:
    • Click on the link labeled ""ILLiad - Request this item through interlibrary loan" pictured below. This link should take you to ILLiad login screen. Login to your account, or set one up if you don't have one already (this can be done by filling out the form to opens when you select the link titled "First Time User."
Screen-capture of full-text finder without full-text immediately available. Highlights where to click to reach ILLiad's login page to request a loan
  • Once you login to your account, the article information will automatically populate the request form. 

  • Check to make sure that the info in the form is complete and correct.

  • Click submit at the bottom of the form to complete the request.

  • The article will then be emailed to you (only available for NEOMED students, faculty, and staff), typically within 1-5 business days. 

  • This service is free to NEOMED students, faculty, and staff, and you can set up an account if you don't have one already. Learn more about interlibrary loan and ILLiad within PubMed at NEOMED in our step-by-step guide titled "Illiad Registration, Requesting & PubMed Importing." 


Exporting Multiple Results from PubMed

  • If you want to export multiple results to a citation management software,  you can do so by clicking on the checkboxes beside each title in the set of PubMed results, as pictured here:

Screen capture showing how to select results from item list in PubMed
  • Once you've selected all results that you wish to save for later, you have several options for exporting/saving at the top of the page. Directly beneath the search box, there should be a button labeled "Save" (pictured below as step 1). Click on this button, and a drop-down menu should appear with options to make a "Selection" of results for exporting (Step 2) and "Save citations to file." To export the results to a citation management software, select the option "RIS" from the dropdown list for "Format" (Step 3). There are also options to save the results as a CSV (a spreadsheet) or in the form of txt documents with abstracts, summaries, or PubMed IDs (PMID). In the following screen shot, RIS was selected. To complete the export of citations to a file, click on "Create File" (step 4)
Screen-capture of Save menu for exporting PubMed results with arrows pointing to Steps 1 through 4 described above
  • For an in-depth workflow for importing this file to different citation management softwares, please visit our step-by-step guide on citation management: https://libraryguides.neomed.edu/citations.

  • One final option for saving your results is to click on the ". . ." button directly to the right of the "Save" button pictured in the previous screen-capture. This button will open a drop-down menu feature options to send your resutls to: PubMed's clipboard (a feature for saving results as you go so that you can export them as a batch after completing multiple searches (learn more); NCBI's My Bibliography feature (learn more); or My NCBI's Collections feature:

Screen-capture showing the options under the ". . ." button in PubMed, for exporting results to PubMed's clipboard and other tools
  • Pro Tip: Once you complete a search, click on "Create an alert" underneath the search box. From here you can create a search alert or save your search strategy.

Full Text from Web of Science at NEOMED

Look for the following icon: NEOMED Logo found in various databases to indicate full-text access options

In Web of Science, the “Northeast Ohio Medical University” icon (pictured above) will often appear within an item record. To access the full text, click this NEOMED icon to go to an external page listing available full-text options. If the full text is not available, you will see a heading that says, "ILLiad - Request this item through interlibrary loan." When prompted, enter your ILLiad login and password and then submit the request via the pre-filled in template. The article will be emailed to you free of charge (only available for NEOMED students, faculty, and staff).

Full Text from EBSCO Databases at NEOMED (includes Academic Search Complete, PsycINFO & CINAHL)

Look for the following icon Explore all full-text options (including Interlibrary Loan - ILL) followed by a link labeled "Explore all full-text options (including Interlibrary Loan - ILL)"

In the NEOMED versions of EBSCO databases (for example, EBSO's APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window) the Northeast Ohio Medical University flame icon (pictured above) will often appear within an item record, with a link labeled "Explore all full-text options (including Interlibrary Loan - ILL)". To access the full text, click the NEOMED flame icon or on the "Explore all full-text . . ." linked text to go to an external page listing available full-text options. If the full text is not available, you will see a heading that says, "ILLiad - Request this item through interlibrary loan." When prompted, enter your ILLiad login and password and then submit the request via the pre-filled in template. The article will be emailed to you free of charge (only available for NEOMED students, faculty, and staff). These instructions only apply to items that are not already immediately available from EBSCO's full-text holdings, in which case there will be a direct link to a PDF from within EBSCO.

Finding Journals using EBSCO's Publication Finder

  1. Click on this link: AtoZ Journals and Ebooks
  2. Authenticate as a NEOMED affiliate. 
  3. Type in the name of the journal. 
  4. Check for any date embargoes. If one is listed, the most current full-text issue is that old. 
  5. Click on the title of the journal. 
  6. Search the publication for the article title.
  7. Click for the "PDF full-text" OR "HTML full-text" to access the full article. 

Finding Full-Text in the Electronic Journal Center

  1. If the article can't be found in our holdings, check the Electronic Journal Center (EJC) from OhioLINK!

  2. Go to the Electronic Journal Center.

  3. Type the article title or the journal title and then click the Go button.

  4. If searching for a specific journal title, then go to the section labeled "Find Journals." This will provide a search box where you can enter the title of the journal you are searching for. From the results that come up, simply find the desired title and check years available information on the right. Select the link if it is available for your preferred year.

  5. Browse the listing, matching (in the following order):

    • Year of publication

    • Volume

    • Issue

  6. Browse the table of contents to locate the desired article. Click the PDF option if possible, or other full text options.

Finding Full-Text from the Catalog

  1. Search the library catalog (NEOLINK) for the title of the journal.

  2. Select On-Campus or Off-Campus user. 

    1.   You’ll be asked to authenticate if you’re off-campus.

  3. Browse the listing of issues, matching first

    1. Year of publication

    2. Volume

    3. Issue

    4. Page numbers

  4. Click on the title of the article.

  5. Click “PDF Full-Text” or “HTML Full-Text” to see the full article.

Need an article?

If you know the title of the article/item that you are trying to access, then enter it in the following search box. This search box will provide full-text links to our holdings. 

Need full-text access to an article/book that NEOMED Library does not have?

If you are affiliated with NEOMED, you can request journal articles or books via interlibrary loan when NEOMED Library does not already have access to the resource. This interlibrary loan service is provided through ILLIAD. You may register for ILLIAD at https://neomed.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/. NEOMED affiliation will be verified before article requests will be filled. 

Articles will be delivered to your ILLIAD account and will be accessible for 30 days. You are free to download and save a copy of this article in PDF form from your account within those 30 days. Please email ill@neomed.edu with questions. 

Home:  Library University      Use the Library: Spaces / Services / Collections      My Account: Interlibrary Loan (Illiad) My Library Account 
     Find Information: PubMed NEOLINK / OHIOLINK 
Journal Article Databases      Request a Service: Search Consultation 
Literature Search
      Help & General Information: Contact Hours Copyright & Privacy Hospital Libraries Library Blog