Current Job Openings

NEOMED Library welcomes information professionals from all backgrounds to apply for the open full-time Scholarly Communications & Reference Librarian position at our Rootstown, Ohio location.

• SUMMARY: The position is responsible for the implementation and management of the NEOMED scholarly communications initiative, including copyright instruction and support.  It also provides reference service, research assistance and instruction, and information literacy education to the campus community.

• PRINCIPAL FUNCTIONAL RESPONSIBILITIES:

  • Scholarly Communications: Serve as primary consultant, advisor, and educator to the university community on questions and issues relating to scholarly publishing, author rights, open access, and copyright and fair use in the realms of teaching, research, and scholarship. Monitor emerging trends, legislation, and pending changes in scholarly communication, and representing the library in consortium and professional venues. Keep abreast of developments in scholarly communications, in the scholarly publishing industry, and in the campus scholarly communications environment.  Lead initiatives to raise awareness of open access and alternative publishing.

  • Reference and Research Services: Provide general reference service to all library patrons. Participate as a departmental liaison as assigned including contributing to education of students, faculty, and staff in information literacy and research methods. Maintains statistics and produces reports and assessments of reference activity. Educate students, faculty, and staff in information literacy and research methods. Support this activity by providing stand-alone instruction, and by developing tutorials, Library Guides, instructional web pages, and other appropriate instructional materials. Perform as a research and education librarian. Maintains statistics and produces reports and assessments of instructional activity.

  • Collection Development: Develop a repository of university-produced scholarship to showcase NEOMED’s impact on the medical fields and for accreditation purposes.

  • Performs other duties as assigned.

• QUALIFICATIONS:

  • Education/Degrees:

    • Minimum of Master’s degree in Library Science from an American Library Association accredited school.

  • Experience:

    • Minimum of three years of professional experience working in an academic or health science library.

    • Knowledge of health sciences information resources, especially PubMed and EBM resources.

• PREFERRED QUALIFICATIONS:

  • Experience:

    • Teaching experience preferred.

    • Demonstrated knowledge of copyright, open access, publishing, and scholarly communications issues in academic or health science libraries.
  • Education:
    • Undergraduate or graduate degree in a life science, medical, or allied health field.

Further information and how to apply can be found at the following link.

https://neomed.peopleadmin.com/postings/5120

The NEOMED Library welcomes information professionals from all backgrounds to apply for the open full-time Electronic Resources Librarian position at our Rootstown, Ohio location.

• Summary: The Electronic Resources Librarian determines collection strategy, coordinates the library’s collection development process and supports budgetary resources or decisions. Maintains and ensures access to print and electronic resources for faculty, students and staff of NEOMED and the NEOMED Affiliated Hospital Libraries through the online public access catalog (OPAC), discovery service, Integrated Library System (ILS)/Library Services Platform (LSP), Ex Libris Alma & Primo and other access points. Collaboratively maintains the library system management and ensures that the collection meets the current and future needs of the University.

Principal Functional Responsibilities:

•  Collection Development: Monitor and analyze resource use and performance to guide collection development, with emphasis on OhioLINK resources. This involves preparing reports on content and usage for various stakeholders, overseeing acquisitions while coordinating with internal teams, maintaining accurate inventory and applying deselection policies, and managing vendor relations, including contracts, licensing, and pricing negotiations.
• Access & Discovery: Manage and provide integrated access to electronic and print resources, coordinating database maintenance, discovery tools, and knowledgebases. Duties include user instruction on library resources, troubleshooting e-access issues, liaising with Hospital Library Affiliates on collections and licensing, and participating in website maintenance and social media engagement.
• Finance: Oversee budget management, including tracking expenditures and providing data-driven fiscal estimates. Manage eResource payments and vendor processes, negotiate contracts and renewals, and monitor library facilities and usage. Coordinate maintenance, collect usage statistics, and contribute to planning and implementing library space and technology improvements. Lead campus Educational Resource Committee (ERC).
• Library Circulation & Customer Service: Facilitate a welcoming library experience by enforcing policies and connecting users to resources. Handle circulation tasks, including locating, checking out, and checking in materials, resolving issues with lost, damaged, or fined items, and participating in interlibrary lending processes.
• Professional Development: Engage with OhioLINK committees and listservs, contributing to decisions on acquisitions, renewals, and policies. Stay informed on academic library trends through professional development. Support outreach and engagement by planning events, promoting library services on social media, maintaining the library website, and gathering feedback from students, faculty, and staff to improve outreach efforts.
• Miscellaneous Duties: Perform other duties as assigned.

Qualifications:

• Master’s Degree in Library Science from an American Library Association accredited institution
• Two years of professional library experience including experience in library technical services, collection development, serials, and/or cataloging and online library systems.

Preferred Qualifications:

• Medical Library Association certification.
• Health science library experience.
• Experience or knowledge of scholarly communication. Familiarity with National Library of Medicine (NLM) classification and Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

To apply for the position: Northeast Ohio Medical University | Electronic Resources Librarian (peopleadmin.com)

NEOMED Library welcomes information professionals from all backgrounds to apply for the following open positions

• NEOMED Library Circulation and Help Desk Student Assistant

  • Hours Per Week: ~8 -16 hours/week (varies with the available hours and university schedule)

    Paid position: Minimum Wage

    Number of Openings: 1-6

    Anticipated Start Date: Summer/ Fall

    Position Duration – Ongoing

    Application Review Starts: Ongoing

    E-mail resume expressing interest to library@neomed.edu

    SUMMARY: Reports to the Electronic Resources Librarian. Provides evening and weekend Help Desk and circulation customer service and assists library users.

    PRINCIPAL FUNCTIONAL RESPONSIBILITIES:

  • Supports evening and weekend operations of the Help Desk and Circulation.  Answers, routes and logs incoming phone calls, provides password resets and basic computer instruction

  • Reports unresolved equipment problems and circulation needs to the Help Desk Staff/ Electronic Resources Librarian

  • Ability to work with minimal supervision and follow simple and complex directions

  • Assists customers in locating materials in the Information Center and provides brief instruction on the use of NEOLINK and OhioLINK

  • Conveys library policies to customers

  • Monitors public areas

  • Ability to work evenings and weekends. Responsible for finding coverage for any scheduled shift unable to work

  • Ability to maintain misc. statistics (shelving count, etc.)

  • Package materials and circulate reserve, media and other library materials

  • Shelf read and reshelf books and journals as needed.  Shifting of same, as needed (At least 30 minutes per shift)

  • Open and /or close the library following established policies and procedures guidelines

  • Assisting the Interlibrary Loan Department

  • Other miscellaneous duties as they are assigned by library staff

  • QUALIFICATIONS:

    Education/Degrees: High School Diploma/ equivalent; enrolled in a University or College preferred.

    Experience: Previous job experience; previous library and/or customer service experience preferred.