Answering Clinical & Drug Information Questions: Medical Resources

Basic science & clinical medicine textbooks, clinical tools, and case studies. Online access to over 60 current medical texts.

Current full text textbooks and monographs, NAPLEX review materials, diagnostic test information, calculators, and clinical cases. Unlimited users.

Effective Health Care Program
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

American Academy of Family Physicians

Heather Holmes, MLIS

National Library of Medicine

Lexi-Comp enables users to quickly locate information on a complete range of topics, including pediatric, adult, and geriatric dosing and guidelines, I.V. compatibility, patient education, international drugs, infectious diseases, pregnancy and lactation, and more.

The Mayo Clinic has provided a great resource to find just about everything you may need for your healthy lifestyle. They provide information on the topics of; diseases and conditions, symptoms, drugs and supplements, and healthy living.

A consumer health resource with over 800 diseases & conditions. The site is mirrored in Spanish and also contains drug & supplement information, a medical dictionary, and media tools such as images and videos.

Over 30 separate databases. Includes Trissell's IV Compatibility, the RED Book, POISINDEX, and Alternative Medicine resources.

Video of the National Library of Medicine presentation at the 2013 Medical Library Association meeting (16 minutes)

Basic science & clinical medicine textbooks, clinical tools, and case studies. Online access to over 60 current medical texts.

Lexi-Comp enables users to quickly locate information on a complete range of topics, including pediatric, adult, and geriatric dosing and guidelines, I.V. compatibility, patient education, international drugs, infectious diseases, pregnancy and lactation, and more.

Covers evidence-based medicine. Seven databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED). Updated as new reviews are published or revised.

PP-ICONS article
Flaherty R. A simple method for evaluating the clinical literature. Fam Pract Manag. 2004;11(5):47-52.

Book found in the NEOMED library reference section.

Book found in the NEOMED library reference section.

Frenz D, Beattie J. DOO, POO and you: getting on the same page as your patients. Today's Hospitalist [Internet]. 2014 Jul. Available from: http://www.todayshospitalist.com/index.php?b=articles_read&cnt=1901

Office of Medical education Research and Development - Michigan State University