NEOMED Library: Fellowship in Academic Medicine: Teaching Track

Journal Club Readings

February 15th

Edmunds S & Brown, G(2010) Effective small group learning: AMEE Guide No. 48, Medical Teacher, 32:9, 715-726

April 12th

Steinert, Y., Snell, L (1999) Interactive lecturing: strategies for increasing participation in large group presentations, Medical Teacher, 21:1, 37-42

May 10th

David C. M. Taylor & Hossam Hamdy (2013) Adult learning theories: Implications for learning and teaching in medical education: AMEE Guide No. 83, Medical Teacher, 35:11, e1561-e1572

September 13th

Delva, D et al (2013) Encouraging residents to seek feedback, Medical Teacher, 35:12, e1625-e1631

October 11

Allison S. DeKosky, Mina S. Sedrak, Eric Goren, C. Jessica Dine, and Karen M. Warburton (2018) Simple Frameworks for Daily Work: Innovative Strategies to Coach Residents Struggling With Time Management, Organization, and Efficiency. Journal of Graduate Medical Education: June 2018, Vol. 10, No. 3, pp. 325-330.

Journals

These are some of the prominent journals in the field; however, they're not the only medical and pharmacy education journals available. Use the A-Z Database list to locate databases with medical education articles!

Academic Medicine Academic Medicine is the official, peer-reviewed journal of the Association of American Medical Colleges.
Advances in Health Sciences Education Advances in Health Sciences Education is a forum for scholarly and state-of-the art research into all aspects of health sciences education.
AMEE MedEdPublish AMEE MedEdPublish is a highly visible, open access, specialist practitioner e-journal that enables academics, teachers, clinicians, researchers and students to publish their experiences, views and research findings relating to teaching, learning and assessment in medical and health professions education. An innovative and key feature of MedEdPublish is that the peer review process begins following publication.
American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education The American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education (the Journal) is the official scholarly publication of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP). Its purpose is to document and advance pharmaceutical education in the United States and internationally.
BioMed Central Medical Education BMC Medical Education is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles in relation to the training of healthcare professionals, including undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education. The journal has a special focus on curriculum development, evaluations of performance, assessment of training needs and evidence-based medicine.
Chronicle of Higher Education The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
The Clinical Teacher Digest of current research, practice and thinking in medical education.
Currents in Pharmacy Teaching and Learning Currents in Pharmacy Teaching and Learning is devoted to dissemination of high quality, peer-reviewed scholarship relevant to all areas of pharmacy education—promoting educational research excellence.
Journal of Graduate Medical Education Peer-reviewed. Journal of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. Its aim is to promote scholarship and critical inquiry related to GME and to communicate this to the GME community.
Journal of Pharmacy Practice The Journal of Pharmacy Practice (JPP) is a peer-reviewed journal that offers practicing pharmacists in-depth useful reviews and research trials and surveys of new drugs and novel therapeutic approaches, pharmacotherapy reviews and controversies, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions, drug administration, adverse drug events, medication safety, pharmacy education, and other pharmacy practice topics. The Pharmacy Education Section will provide contemporary reviews addressing the challenges and innovations associated with providing quality learning experiences for students enrolled in pharmacy experiential education activities. It will offer recommendations/ suggestions for individuals who serve as experiential pharmacy preceptors. Potential topics will be selected by a nationally recognized group of pharmacy practitioners involved in experiential education and will address academic, administrative, and accreditation-related issues.
MedEdPORTAL: The Journal of Teaching and Learning Resources A peer-reviewed, open-access journal that promotes educational scholarship and dissemination of teaching and assessment resources in the health professions
Medical Education The journal is the senior international scientific journal for undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing medical education. As such, all issues of current interest, including teaching methods, curriculum reform, the training of medical teachers, the selection of entrants and assessment techniques, are covered. It is the main forum for teachers of medicine worldwide. The readership consists primarily of teachers of medicine, medical educators, administrators of faculties or medicine workers and researchers involved in the development of medical education as a whole.
Medical Education Online Journal Medical Education Online is a peer-reviewed international Open Access journal for disseminating information on the education and training of physicians and other health care professionals.
Medical Teacher Medical Teacher is the journal of AMEE, an international association for all involved with medical and healthcare professions education. Medical Teacher addresses the needs of teachers and administrators throughout the world involved in training for the health professions.
Pharmacy: Journal of Pharmacy Education and Practice ) is an international scientific open access journal on pharmacy education and practice published quarterly online by MDPI (Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute).

Find an Article

Use the A-Z Databases list to find an article in one of our subject databases.

If you can't access an article, please use the ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan) request form to obtain the article. Instructions for creating an ILLiad account are linked below.

Illiad Registration Requesting and PubMed Importing

Websites

AAMC Medical Education
Web site of the Association of American Medical Colleges with links to MedEdPORTAL, Tool for Assessing Cultural Competence Training, Institute for Improving Medical Education, and Clinical Skills Education Recommendations.
Accreditation Council of Pharmacy Education (ACPE)
The national agency for the accreditation of professional degree programs in pharmacy and providers of continuing pharmacy education. Includes standards for pharmacy education.
American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists – Education Page
Professional development & teaching resources for obstetricians/gynecologists.
American College of Physicians Internal Medicine- Medical Educator Resources
Comprehensive resources for educators of residents and medical students. Clinical skills, residency training, and teaching resources are available.
Annotated List of Online Continuing Medical Education
Compiled by Bernard Skylar, MD, MS.
Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
The AAMC supports the education, research, and patient care activities conducted by member institutions, American and Canadian medical schools. Check the site for education and research initiatives in teaching.
Curriculum Inventory & Reports (CIR) - AAMC
CIR was designed to serve as the premier benchmarking and reporting tool on content, structure, delivery, and assessment of medical school curricula. (description from site)
Education Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates (ECFMG)
Contains detailed information about ECFMG certification.
EDUCAUSE
EDUCAUSE is a nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology. An excellent resource for educators looking to refine teaching methods by using technology.
Group of Educational Affairs (GEA)
The GEA is a group of the AAMC. Membership is open to those who have a professional responsibility in medical student, resident, and continuing medical education, designated by deans, hospital directors, or academic societies. A certificate program in medical education is available.
MedEd Portal
An online publication that offers peer review for teaching resources. Includes referenced tutorials, cases, lab manuals, evaluation forms, faculty development materials, and virtual patients.
Peer Observation of Teaching Handbook
A resource in MedEd Portal
Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM) – Resource Library
The central repository for information on curricula and educational resources for clinician educators of internal medicine.
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine ( STFM)
A site expressly addressing the needs of family medicine educators. They are responsible for the Family Medicine Digital Resources Library. Members have access to many curricular/training materials.
STFM Resource Library
The FMDRL contains:
• Conference Presentations/Handouts
• PowerPoint Lectures
• Learning Modules for All Levels of Learners
• Digital images, Audio and Video Files
• Standardized Patient Cases
• Recommended Web Sites and PDA Programs
• Other Curricular Materials

Resources posted are copyrighted by the owner, but licensed for use with Creative Commons licenses.
The Generalists in Medical Education
Members are educators who teach, conduct research, and provide support services in all areas of predoctoral, postdoctoral and continuing medical education. Areas of interest include curriculum and faculty development, testing and evaluation, and student services.

COLLECTIONS BY FORMAT:

KEY RESOURCES:

SERVICES:

SPACES:

Fellowship in Academic Medicine

Journal Club Readings

Journals

Find an Article

Websites