NEOMED Library: FOM Tertiary Resources Assignment Guide (beginning the 2025-2026 Academic Year): Questions 7-11

Question 7 - Drug-Drug Interaction and Results of the Interaction

Answer this question using professional drug monographs. Use one of the monographs available in the following resources. You may not use monographs for patients. You may seek permission to use a professional monograph from a resource that is not in this list. Please contact H. McEwen for permission.

AccessMedicine
Click on More on the top menu. Click on Generics or Trade Name dependent on the drug name you were provided.
AccessPharmacy
Click on More on the top menu. Click on Generics or Trade Name dependent on the drug name you were provided.
Clinical Key
Click on drug monographs. Go to the interaction section of the monograph. Click on one of the medications listed that interact with your medication. It will then provide the result the interaction.
Lexidrug Online
See the interactions section of the drug monograph.
Micromedex
See the drug interactions section of the drug monograph.

Question 8 - Herb/Supplement - Drug Interactions

A professional herbal monograph should be consulted for this question. Please choose one of the following resources. Many resources have herbal monographs (Natural Medicines database, Lexi-Comp Online, AccessPharmacy, MicroMedex, etc.).

For this question, you can provide an individual drug or a drug class. An example of a drug class would be

Natural Medicines
Former title Natural Standard. Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. Interactions checker and continuing education are also available.
AccessPharmacy
Wireless users: Please utilize off-campus link. You will be asked to authenticate with your name and student number. Click on the textbook tab on the home page and choose the textbook: "CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2018"
Lexi-Comp Online
Lexi-Comp enables users to quickly locate information on a complete range of topics, including pediatric, adult, and geriatric dosing and guidelines, I.V. compatibility, patient education, international drugs, infectious diseases, pregnancy and lactation, and more.
Merative MicroMedex
Do a keyword search.

Question 9 - Using Visual Dx to Determine Potential Differential Diagnoses

Use the VisualDx Quick Start Differential Builder. Enter these symptoms and provide two potential differential diagnoses

Question 10 - Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library
Do a keyword search. See the FOM workshop slides for screen shots about how to do the search and where to find the citation.

Question 11 - Differential Diagnosis

AccessMedicine
Basic science & clinical medicine textbooks, clinical tools, and case studies. Online access to over 60 current medical texts.
Micromedex
Over 30 separate databases. Includes Trissell's IV Compatibility, the RED Book, POISINDEX, and Alternative Medicine resources.
UpToDate
UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to fulltext articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.

VisualDx
VisualDx is an award-winning diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Features include: the world’s best curated medical image library; smart search for chief complaints, diagnoses, and drug reactions; and custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder

ClinicalKey

COLLECTIONS BY FORMAT:

KEY RESOURCES:

SERVICES:

SPACES:

FOM Tertiary Resources Assignment Guide (beginning the 2025-2026 Academic Year): Questions 7-11

Announcements

Question 7 - Drug-Drug Interaction and Results of the Interaction

Question 8 - Herb/Supplement - Drug Interactions

Question 9 - Using Visual Dx to Determine Potential Differential Diagnoses

Question 10 - Cochrane Library

Question 11 - Differential Diagnosis