Medications & Natural Products Derived from Animals: General Information

Covers evidence-based medicine. Seven databases: Cochrane database of systematic reviews; Database of abstracts of reviews of effectiveness (DARE); Cochrane central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane database of methodology reviews; Cochrane methodology register; Health technology assessment database (HTA); and NHS Economic evaluation database (NHS EED). Updated as new reviews are published or revised.

Former title Natural Standard. Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. It contains various databases: Foods, herbs & supplements; Health & wellness; Comparative effectiveness; Medical conditions; Genomics & proteomics; Environment & global health; Brand names. Interactions checker and continuing education are also available.

HHMI's 2009 Holiday Lectures
watch videos online

National Science Foundation Press Release (May 19, 2011)

National Science Foundation

Interactive slide show

More information about horseshoe crab blood.

iBioSeminars

Redwan el-RM. Animal-derived pharmaceutical proteins. J Immunoassay Immunochem. 2009;30(3):262-90.
Abstract of article in PubMed. Article available online via OhioLINK.

Utkin YN. Animal venom studies: current benefits and future developments. World J Biol Chem. 2015;6(2):28-33.

Part of the website of Dr. Zoltan Takacs

Online encyclopedia focused on all species living on Earth

Bernstein A, Ludwig D. The importance of biodiversity to medicine. JAMA. 2008;300(19):2297-9. PubMed abstract.

National Institutes of Health National Institute of General Medical Sciences

Biswas A, Gomes A, Sengupta J, Datta P, Singha S, Dasgupta A, et al. Nanoparticle-conjugated animal venom-toxins and their possible therapeutic potential. J Venom Res. 2012;3:15-21. Article available in PubMed Central.

Kasheverov IE, Utkin YN, Tsetlin VI. Naturally occurring and synthetic peptides acting on nicotinic acetylcholine receptors. Curr Pharm Des. 2009;15(21):2430-52.

Dr. Bryan Grieg Fry's website on his research on the evolution of venom systems.

Vetter I, Davis JL, Rash LD, et al. Venomics: a new paradigm for natural products-based drug discovery. Amino Acids. 2011;40(1):15-28. Article available via the Electronic Journal Center to OhioLINK users.

Hardy MC, Cochrane J, Allavena RE. Venomous and poisonous Australian animals of veterinary importance: a rich source of novel therapeutics. Biomed Res Int. 2014;2014:671041. Article freely available vai PubMed Central.

Perumal Samy R, Stiles BG, Franco OL, Sethi G, Lim LHK. Animal venoms as antimicrobial agents. Biochem Pharmacol. 2017;134:127-138. PubMed abstract

Calvete JJ, Sanz L, Angulo Y, Lomonte B, Gutiérrez JM. Venoms, venomics, antivenomics. FEBS Lett. 2009;583(11):1736-43.

MedicineNet.com article

The World Toxin Bank looks at venom from animal species to look for new medical interventions.