FOM Tertiary Resources Assignment Guide (beginning the 2025-2026 Academic Year): How to Cite the Resources for Your Assignment

How to Cite Drug and Herbal Monographs

• General Drug Monograph Citation

Format: Authors. Web site title. Date of first publication [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Copyright date - . Available from URL.

• AccessMedicine or AccessPharmacy

Abacavir. [cited 2021 Oct 28]. In: AccessPharmacy, [Internet]. [place unknown]: McGraw-Hill. c1978- . Available               from:http://www.accesspharmacy.com/drugContent.aspx?mid=5541.

• Clinical Key Drug Monograph:

  Bacitracin. Gold Standard. [updated 2021 Nov 10; cited 2022 Jul 6] In ClinicalKey [Internet]. Elsevier, Philadelphia, PA. Available at: https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/content/drug_monograph/6-s2.0-55. 

• DailyMed:

  Format: Pharmaceutical company.  Label. Publication Date [revision date; date cited]. In: Database Name [Internet]. [Copyright date] - , [page numbers]. Place of Publication: Publisher. Available from URL.

  Sanofi-Aventis U.S. LLC. Ambien cr (zolpidem tartrate) tablet, coated. 2007 [rev. 2007 Sep; cited 2009 Apr]. In: DailyMed [Internet]. [2005] -   . [about 20 p.]. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US). Available from: http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/drugInfo.cfm?id=5420

• Lexi-Comp 

Lexi-Comp and Micromedex have many different databases inside the resource. You must include the individual database name. 

Format: Authors. Web site title. Name of database. Date of first publication [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Available from URL. 

Lansoprazole. Lexi-Drugs. [updated 2024 Jun 4; cited 2024 Jun 6] In Lexidrug UpToDate [Internet]. UpToDate. Waltham, MA. Available at: https://online.lexi.com.

• Micromedex

Lansoprazole. Micromedex® DRUGDEX®. [updated 2024 Jun 3; cited 2024 Jun 6] In: Merative^TM Micromedex® [Internet]. Merative, Ann Arbor, Michigan. Available at: http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/ 

• Drug Monograph from UpToDate

Lexicomp. Ampiciliin: Drug information. [cited 2024 Jun 15]. In: UpToDate [Internet]. The Netherlands: Wolters Kluwer. Available from https://www-uptodate-com.
 

How to Cite Other Library Resources:

• ClinicalKey Journal Article:

  Over DR. Upright Walkers as Mobility Assistive Devices for Older Adults. Am Fam Physician. 2022 May 1;105(5):Online.  ClinicalKey website. https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/content/journal/1-s2.0-S0002838X22000995. Accessed July 6, 2022. 

• ClinicalKey Book:

  Bernstein D. General principles of treatment of congenital heart disease. In: Kliegman RM, Stanton BF, St Geme JW, and Schor N, eds. Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. 20th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier; 2016:2243-2250. ClinicalKey website. https://www.clinicalkey.com/#!/content/book/3-s2.0-B9781455775668004348. Accessed January 27, 2016.

• Database/Retrieval System [Cochrane Reviews]:

  Format: Authors. Web site title. Date of first publication [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Copyright date - . Size of file. Available from URL.

  Bunyavejchevin S, Phupong V. Laparoscopic surgery for presumed benign ovarian tumor during pregnancy. 2006 Oct 18 [amended 2007 Jun 14; cited 2007 Feb 20]. In: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews [Internet]. Hoboken (NJ): John Wiley & Sons, Inc. c1999 -   . 129K. Available from: http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/cochrane/clsysrev/articles/CD005459/pdf_fs.html Record No.: CD005459.

• Herbal Monographs from NatMed Pro (formerly called Natural Medicines)

Format: Authors. Web site title. Name of database. Date of first publication [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Copyright date - . Available from URL. 

Acai. Food, Herbs & Supplements. [updated 2018 Apr 14; cited 2018 Sept 17]. In: NatMedPro [Internet]. Denver, CO: NatMed. c2018. Available from https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/about-us/contact-us.aspx 

• Comparative Effectiveness Database within NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines).

Anemia. Comparative Effectiveness. [updated 2018 Apr 14; cited 2018 Sept 17]. In: NatMedPro [Internet]. Denver, CO: Natural Medicines. c2018. Available from https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/about-us/contact-us.aspx 

• UptoDate:

Johnson MD. Second-generation antipsychotic medications: pharmacology, administration, and side effects. Post TW, ed. UpToDate. Waltham, MA: UpToDate Inc. http://uptodate.com (Accessed on January 02, 2017.)

• VisualDx

Format: Authors. Web page title. Date of first publication (omit if not available) [Database name] [amended date; date cited]. In: database name [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher. Copyright date. Size of file (omit if not available). Available from URL.

Papier A, Craft N, Tharp MD, Shear N. Cocaine levamisole toxicity. [VisualDx] [cited 2016 Jan 01]. In: Goldsmith LA, ed. VisualDx [Internet]. Rochester, NY: VisualDx. 2016. Available from https://www.visualdx.com/visualdx/diagnosis/cocaine+levamisole+toxicity?moduleID=101&diagnosisID=54687.