Skip to main content

Student Onboarding -- COM -- Library Resources

This guide is intended to serve as an introductory overview of library resources for the new medical student. Browse this guide early and often throughout your medical school career to get a firm grounding in everything from printing to PubMed.

Databases, Articles & Books

Research Databases -  Access our complete inventory of research databases from Access Medicine, to PubMed, to Pharmacy Library

Journal Finder - Use our Full Text Finder to locate journals by journal title.  Find which journals we have access to in all of our resources and at OhioLINK. Set up a Full Text Finder Personal Account to save search results, search logic, search alerts and journal alerts to your personal folder.

OhioLink Electronic Journal Center (EJC) - EJC contains 26 million full text articles from 11,000 academic journals. Many of our research databases will link you to results in the EJC.  You can also search and browse the EJC by journal title.  You can also set up a "MyEJC" account and save searches and reading lists.  You can also set up a "Journal Alert" that will send you an email reminder every time a new issue of your favorite journal appears in the EJC.

NEOLINK  - NEOMED Library Catalog, search the catalog to find our local holdings. 

From within NeoLINK, transfer your NeoLINK search to the OhioLINK consortium Library Catalog to search 46 million items from 121 OhioLINK member libraries. Look for this button:
 OhioLINK Central

 

From within the OhioLINK Central Catalog, transfer your search to the SearchOhio Catalog to search 16 million items from 28 public library systems in Ohio.  Look for this button:
 Find it on SearchOhio

 

Have any of these items delivered to the NEOMED Library service desk.

Library Guides

Library Guides focus on particular subjects, services, and resources. The Guides featured below cover some key services and tools. 

Anatomical Models and Their Keys - these anatomical models are available throughout the library.

Avoiding Plagiarism Guide -introduces you to the basics of plagiarism and  provides links to plagiarism tutorials to help you learn how to identify and avoid plagiarism. 

Citation Management Guide - introduces various citation management software tools. You can use these tools to build and manage an online database of your research citations.

Citing Resources Guide - introduces the basic citation styles, including NLM, APA, and AMA.  Here you'll learn proper content and style for your literature citations.

Health Data & Statistics Resources  - is a great starting place when you're in need of data from the United States government to the World Health Organization and everyplace in between.

Image Library Guide- includes advice on the proper use and citation of images.

NCBI Resources Library Guide connects you to all sorts of training, news, and tutorials on the entire suite of NCBI databases.

Site Map          Contact Us        "Like" us on Facebook!          Copyright & Privacy Statement